The Feminist Knitter

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Knitting and Crochet Blog Week – Day 2 April 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — picturefool @ 1:18 pm
Tags: ,

Today’s prompt is:

An Inspirational Pattern
Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

I have experienced a huge growth spurt in terms of skill with both knit and crochet in the last few months. I have several projects in the works. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to learn to make a granny square. I did that on January 1st. I immediately wished I had set the bar a little higher but being the rules-follower I am I know that if the resolutions isn’t firmly in place at midnight as the year changes over then it’s just too late and you’re at sea without that particular resolution. It’s a fact. You can look it up.

I am still very, very much in the beginning knitter classification so I’m sticking with pretty simple patterns. I do aspire to making a sweater one day. I’m terrified of it for a million reasons that are probably all invalid. I’ll list a few:

  1. I don’t want to measure things.
  2. Blocking sounds like hell on earth and something I will sweat over and freak out over for hours.
  3. I don’t want to do anything that involves piecing.
  4. I’z just scared.

For now, for the short term, I aspire to make the wrap linked to at the end of this post. It will cost a bundle in yarn unless I can use the alpaca I bought at Stitches South last Sunday, but it will be gorgeous. I just have to use up some of my stash first because it has become obscene.

Perhaps instead of saying that I aspire to a particular pattern or project I should say that I aspire to shrink my stash!

Wrap Pattern

 

2 Responses to “Knitting and Crochet Blog Week – Day 2”

  1. Karol Says:

    OK, I’m pissed. You took my name.

  2. picturefool Says:

    You could be The Knitting Feminist!… 🙂


Leave a Reply

