The Feminist Knitter

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Knitting Update June 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — picturefool @ 4:33 pm
  1. I totally frogged the knitted UK blanket for my cousin. That much garter stitch was making me crazy mainly because I was so bored I kept dropping stitches and not finding them for days. I also hated the fact that the blanket was not reversible. That was driving me crazy. So now I’m crocheting it and even though it’s still boring it’s fast and it’s reversible so that will work out fine. This is going to be my go-to project during the drive to Disney next week.
  2. I have not touched the wrap for my friend K in weeks. I know she can’t wear it for months so it’s being pushed to the back-burner. I think it will only take 3-4 hours to finish.
  3. The flower scarf hasn’t moved along either. I made one gorgeous pink flower and then haven’t touched the rest. It will happen when it happens. Right now my problem is that the pink I have does not go with the blues I have and I really don’t want to buy more yarn until I’ve used what I have. I’m toying with making the scarf in all pink. I love pink.
  4. I frogged the Fantasy Shawl completely because I hate it, hate it, hate it now. I don’t know if it was the repeated combination of bad yarn and the wrong size hook or what but that’s just not going to happen. Let us never speak of it again.
  5. The bookmark was finished and given to my sweet 9-year-old friend who squealed and hugged me. She’s so wonderful. And the bookmark looked great – my best ever.
  6. My hair stylist very sadly lost her baby so the baby blanket is gone.
  7. The ribbed scarf is something I pull out about once a week and work on. It’s hardly a rush project even though I swear the friend I’m making it for would wear a scarf in hell because she is ALWAYS cold. It’s halfway to completion and when I pick it up now it moves much faster. For one thing, I replaced the straight needles I was using with Bryspun circular needles. That makes me love the scarf again. I’m learning over and over that the right yarn + the right needles + the right pattern is what makes knit or crochet fun instead of frustrating. It’s a trifecta. Now that I have the right needles the scarf feels and looks so much better to me and I can’t wait to finish it up.
  8. Since a few projects have fallen off the list I have added in a couple more. The first is a bunch of wash cloths/dishcloths which will help flesh out some presents during the holidays. I’ve completed two so far and they are fabulous. One is crocheted (SO EASY) and one is knitted. I was so proud of how well it knit up for me. I used a variegated Peaches n’ Creme yarn (which looked so ugly in the ball I have no idea why I bought it to begin with but looks GORGEOUS knitted up!) and Addi needles and it just worked for me. Very happy. I’ll be taking some cotton and needles to Disney to work on some in line when I get antsy.
  9. At Stitches South I bought an INSANE amount of Araucania Ulmo cotton yarn. So did my friend, C.  So, we swapped ten out of twenty hanks a piece so that we have two different color schemes in about 1200 yards (!!!) a piece. All of that is to say that I’m about a third of the way through a drop-stitch scarf in the more pastel of the colors. I love the yarn and the needles. I’m not dying over the colors but it is very “beachy” and I do think I’ll either get some use out of it or figure out someone to give it to.
  10. Same yarn, different project. I’m going to gather yarn and hook today to make a crocheted market bag out of the bright color Ulmo. That will be interesting because the Ulmo is super fun to knit (never splits, slides along the needles but not too much, easy to read my stitches) so if I have problems crocheting it I have a knit pattern to fall back on.

So many projects going and in my mind. It’s lots of fun and I’m enjoying the challenge. I think having the knit dishcloth and the knit scarf coming along is reassuring me that I CAN KNIT. That feels sooo good. My knitting girls are all so good at what they do but they’ve also been doing it for at least three years. I have to cut myself some slack. That’s a common theme for me…. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

